My Three Favorite TED Talks

The happy secret to better work

(12 minutes)
A happiness researcher on, yes, the importance of being happy

In this fast-paced, invigorating talk, Harvard researcher Shawn Achor convinces us with bursts of hilarity, made up data, and flashes of brilliance that when it comes to happiness, we (that is, pretty much all of us) have it (that is, pretty much everything) backwards.

How many of us assume the secret of success is to work harder? And that success will bring us happiness?

What if, in fact, the absolute opposite were true?

All it takes is 10 mindful minutes

(10 minutes)
A former Buddhist monk speaks on the importance of being present

“We’re talking about our minds–our most precious and valuable resource, through which we experience every single moment of our lives…the same mind we depend upon to be focused, creative, spontaneous, and to perform at our very best in everything that we do, and yet we don’t take any time out to look after it…”

The game that can give you 10 extra years of life

(20 minutes)
A game designer on healing, end of life regrets, and why video games aren’t all bad

Jane McGonigal’s riveting and personal talk changed my life–as a doctor, as a parent, and as a patient. She summarizes four spheres of wellness based on her research with hospice patients and personal experience with illness (Cognitive, Physical, Social, Emotional). Mst importantly, she tells us WHAT YOU CAN DO TO IMPROVE THEM (believe it or not, this is where the video game ties in). Wellness becomes a matter of battling bad guys, recruiting allies, and seeking power-ups in all your quadrants. Yes, there’s an app for that. (SuperBetter.com).

Based on research with hospice patients, the top five regrets at the end of life are:
“I wish I hadn’t worked so hard”
“I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends”
“I wish I had let myself be happier”
“I wish I had had the courage to express my true self”
“I wish I had lived a life true to my dreams”

Today, I will try to live a life without regret.

Leave a Reply

