Neil Gaiman – Make Good Art

Neil Gaiman’s Inspirational Commencement Address to the University of the Arts (Philadelphia) Class of 2012 is full of inspiration for artists, writers, dancers, dreamers, and creators of every kind. I turn to it on bad days and on good, because it reminds me why I am “doing this” (i.e. writing) when I could be doing many easier things (although none that make me feel like I am totally getting away with something quite the way that writing does…).

I’m putting this video here because I need to be able to find it when I need it. Because I want to share it. Because I love Neil Gaiman’s accent. Because it’s that kind of day.

My favorite quote:

“Life is sometimes hard. Things go wrong, in life and in love and in business and in friendship and in health and in all the other ways that life can go wrong. And when things get tough, this is what you should do.

“Make good art.

“I’m serious. Husband runs off with a politician? Make good art. Leg crushed and then eaten by mutated boa constrictor? Make good art. IRS on your trail? Make good art. Cat exploded? Make good art. Somebody on the Internet thinks what you do is stupid or evil or it’s all been done before? Make good art. Probably things will work out somehow, and eventually time will take the sting away, but that doesn’t matter. Do what only you do best. Make good art.

“Make it on the good days too.”

Leave a Reply

